PIPS Opportunities

Professional Internship for PhD Students (PIPS)

The PIPS process is student-led.  That means you are responsible for finding and arranging a placement to suit your individual needs.  You may wish to try out something related to a potential future career, if you know what that might be, or you may wish to try something completely different that you haven’t previously considered.  Bear in mind that host organisations may be able to offer a variety of roles e.g. a large organisation may have roles within their marketing department, as well as potential industry research roles.  It is up to you and the host organisation to negotiate what the best type of placement will be to provide the greatest benefit to them and to yourself.  It is a two-way process.

There are four main ways to find your PIPS:

  1. Advertised PIPS opportunities
  2. Approach previous PIPS host organisations
  3. Ongoing PIPS schemes
  4. Find your own placement

1/ Advertised PIPS opportunities

A wide variety of PIPS opportunities are brought to our attention on an ad-hoc basis throughout the year.  These are circulated to students as they arise.  Please check your email for PIPS opportunities and follow the enclosed application instructions, as these differ for each opportunity.

The most recent advertised opportunities can be found on the right-hand side of each page on this website.

For the full list of advertised PIPS opportunities, CLICK HERE

2/ Approach previous PIPS hosts

You can be inspired by the list below of organisations that have hosted PIPS interns over the last few years.  Please approach these organisations sensitively as they may or may not be in a position to host another PIPS student.  If in doubt, speak to your local PIPS contact (details at bottom of page).  

PIP Host organisation TOWN / CITY COUNTRY PIPS host website
4D Pharma Leeds UK https://www.4dpharmaplc.com/en
ABPI – Association of British Pharmaceutical Industry London UK https://www.abpi.org.uk/
Accelerate Associates Stone UK https://www.accelerate-associates.co.uk/
Aqua Enviro Wakefield UK https://www.aquaenviro.co.uk/
Astbury Biostructure Laboratory, EM Facility Leeds UK http://www.astbury.leeds.ac.uk/biostructurelaboratory/
Babraham Institute Cambridge UK https://www.babraham.ac.uk/
BBC Wildlife Magazine London UK https://www.discoverwildlife.com
Benchmark Vaccine Ltd Braintree UK https://ct.catapult.org.uk/how-we-work/our-facilities/manufacturing-innovation-centre-braintree-uk
Biorenewals Development Centre Ltd (BDC) York UK http://www.biorenewables.org/
British Antarctic Survey Cambridge UK https://www.bas.ac.uk/
Cambridge Cancer Genomics Cambridge UK https://www.ccg.ai/
CasZyme Vilnius Lithuania http://www.caszyme.com/
Certara UK Ltd (Simcyp Division) Sheffield UK https://www.certara.com/
Croda Goole UK https://www.croda.com/en-gb/careers/our-locations/europe-and-eemea/united-kingdom
Diagenode Seattle USA https://www.diagenode.com/en
Emmaus Bristol  Bristol  UK https://emmaus.org.uk/bristol/
Euralis Co-operative Group Blagnac Cedex France https://www.euralis-semences.fr/ 
Federation of European Biochemical Societies (FEBS) Cambridge UK http://www.febs.org/
Find a PhD.com / FindAUniversity Ltd Sheffield UK https://www.findaphd.com/
FindAUniversity Ltd Sheffield UK https://www.findauniversity.com/
Great North Museum: Hancock Newcastle-upon-Tyne UK https://greatnorthmuseum.org.uk/
Harvard Museum of Natural History Boston USA https://hmnh.harvard.edu
Hope for the Future Sheffield UK http://www.hftf.org.uk/
Immetacyte Limited Manchester UK https://www.immetacyte.com/
Jones Day Munich Germany https://www.jonesday.com/en
Lasers for Science Facility, UKRI Swindon UK https://stfc.ukri.org/about-us/where-we-work/rutherford-appleton-laboratory/research-complex-at-harwell/lasers-for-science-facility/
Leeds Human Performance Service Leeds UK No website available. 
Lhasa Limited Leeds UK https://www.lhasalimited.org/#
MetaLinear Alderley Edge UK http://www.metalinear.co.uk/
MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences (MRC LMS), Biological Mass Spectrometry & Proteomics London UK https://lms.mrc.ac.uk/ 
MRC Unit, The Gambia at London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine Fajara Gambia https://www.mrc.gm/
National Botanic Garden of Wales Llanarthne UK https://botanicgarden.wales/
New Phytologist Trust Lancaster UK https://www.newphytologist.org/
NHS England and NHS Improvement Leeds UK https://improvement.nhs.uk/
NZYtech Lisbon Portugal https://www.nzytech.com
Oxford Nanopore Technologies Oxford UK https://nanoporetech.com/#
Oxford University Innovation Oxford UK https://innovation.ox.ac.uk/
PlantProbes Leeds UK http://www.plantprobes.net/index.php
Prime Global Various locations UK http://primeglobalpeople.com/
Protein Metrics San Carlos USA https://www.proteinmetrics.com/
Public Health England (PHE), Diagnostic Support Group in the Rare and Imported Pathogens Lab, National Infections Service Porton Down UK https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/public-health-england
Pwani University Pwani Kenya http://ssdnafrica.acaciaafrica.org/
Random42 Scientific Communication London UK https://random42.com/
Rosalind Franklin Institute, Leeds Leeds UK http://www.leeds.ac.uk/info/2000/research_and_innovation/774/rosalind_franklin_institute
RSK ADAS Ltd Malton UK https://www.adas.uk/
Sense about Science London UK https://senseaboutscience.org/
Sheffield Research Services (Commercialisation Team) Sheffield UK https://www.sheffield.ac.uk/rs/commercialisation
Sheffield Robotics Sheffield UK https://www.sheffieldrobotics.ac.uk/
Singer Instruments Watchet UK https://www.singerinstruments.com/
SKOLTECH Moscow Russia https://www.skoltech.ru/en/
STEM Learning York UK https://www.stem.org.uk
Stratagem IPM Cambridge UK https://www.stratagemipm.co.uk/
Successful Futures (North Yorkshire Business Education Partnerships – NYBEP) UK https://nybep.org.uk
Swift Analytical  York UK https://www.swiftanalytical.com/
The Academy of Medical Sciences London UK https://acmedsci.ac.uk/
The Association of the British Pharmaceutical Industry London UK https://www.abpi.org.uk/
The Brilliant Club Leeds UK https://thebrilliantclub.org
The Pirbright Institute Woking UK https://www.pirbright.ac.uk/
The Story Collider   USA https://www.storycollider.org/
The University of Bradford Bradford UK https://www.bradford.ac.uk/staff/rcjanaway
The Wildlife Trust for Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire & Northamptonshire Great Cambourne UK https://www.wildlifebcn.org/
Thermo Fisher Scientific, Materials and Structural Analysis Eindhoven The Netherlands https://www.thermofisher.com/uk/en/home.html
TTP plc Royston UK https://www.ttp.com/
Tuolumne River Trust Sonora US  https://www.tuolumne.org/
TUoS Sheffield UK https://www.sheffield.ac.uk/medicine
Twelve Oaks Software Ltd York UK https://www.12os.co.uk/
York Mind York UK https://www.yorkmind.org.uk/
York St John University York UK https://www.yorksj.ac.uk/
Yorkshire Museum York UK https://www.yorkshiremuseum.org.uk

3/ Organisations offering ongoing PIPS

Some organisations, such as, the BBSRC and Fera, offer ongoing placements.

 

Up to 8 internships are available at the BBSRC throughout the year.  Find out more here: 

BBSRC PIPS


A number of placements will be available on an annual basis at our partner, the Food & Environment Research Agency (Fera) at Sand Hutton, York.  Each year, details of Fera PIPS will be made available at the Induction and Training Day at Fera in November each year.  In the meantime, if you would like to pursue a placement at Fera then please get in touch with the DTP Co-ordinator, Catherine Liddle email: c.m.liddle@leeds.ac.uk

4/ Find your own placement

You are welcome to find your own PIPS with an organisation that has not previously hosted a placement. You or your supervisor may have industry contacts or you may have contacts through other networks that you can follow up.  Talk to other students who have already been on their PIPS and use LinkedIn for networking.  If you need support in following up these leads or in making an initial contact, please get in touch with the PIPS Contact for your university.

PIPS Contacts: CLICK HERE

Contact your local PIPS contact for all the latest information regarding possible PIPS host organisations and to discuss how to arrange a placement with a host organisation of your choosing.